The Indianapolis Chapter was formed in 1990 as an Interest Group. The founders of the group believed the city of Indianapolis was in need of a professional organization for African Americans. 

The vision was to provide the African-American professional community with advanced degrees an opportunity to come together and network as a group. The National Black MBA Association offered such an opportunity and this group of visionaries petitioned the national organization for admittance. A few of the people involved in this effort were Claudia Stevens Maddox, Jerry Johnson, and Emmanuel “Mann” Harris. A great debt is owed to these individuals for their foresight. Others playing a prominent role in developing the chapter were Ed Thompson, Sheila Faison, Bill Reynolds, Carolyn Johns (Christian), Darlene Sowell, and Frank Davis. 

Immediately thereafter, the group was granted Interim Chapter status. As an Interim Chapter, we (the members) worked hard to meet the goals set forth by the national organization as required to become a Full Chapter. 

In the summer of 1992, during an Executive Board Meeting in Chicago, the Indianapolis Chapter was granted Full Chapter status! Much is owed to one of our former presidents, Darlene Sowell, and Sheila Faison, an original member, who traveled to Chicago to compel the board to grant this status to our chapter. 

In October 1999, the Internal Revenue Service granted the chapter 501c(3) status. Much credit is owed to Ken Gregory, Past President and Chapter Treasurer, for his efforts in accomplishing this goal.

Since becoming a Full Chapter with the NBMBAA, the Indianapolis Chapter has continued to grow at a steady pace. 

Our goal locally is to be “the premier professional organization in the city of Indianapolis.”

Our organization serves seasoned black professionals, black professionals who are underemployed or unemployed and business students throughout the state of Indiana. Our local chapter touches the professional and personal lives of over 500 members and friends of the organization.

Carolyn Johnson 1990 Ken Gregory 1995-1996 Michael Florence 2003-2006
Darlene Sowell 1991-1992 Tony Williams 1997-2000 Denise Hughey 2007 - 2010
Frank Gadzepko 1993-1994 Hortense White 2001-2002 Lori Harris Present